Radical Traveling – From sweating to freezing in less than two weeks

So, Costa Rica is over. It passed by in a blur, with almost 24 hours a day/ 7 days a week for 8 weeks straight of work. But work was enjoyable enough, and when work wasn’t that enjoyable, I at least had the pleasure of knowing that I was living in an amazing community. I spent most of my time living in Tonjibe, a town of about 300 Maleku people (about half of the indigenous Maleku population). The friends that I made there will stay in my heart forever, I met so many amazing people, had so many nice moments of being part of their community, of laughing, of almost crying, of laughing until I actually cried. I fell in love with Tonjibe, its landscape, its climate, its people (and my family there), its history and tradition, its vibe, even my leaf-roofed bedroom.

I have plans to return. Once I get to Alaska, I will research and apply for some grants, work with some of my friends in Tonjibe, and hopefully devise a program to create some Maleku language material for their schools. That would be a dream-come-true. The opportunity to dream of a project like this was my motivation in going to Costa Rica all along, so I would say that on many levels it was a very successful trip and a decision I am glad I made!

Once I get to Alaska …

I must admit, it certainly is a radical change, one climate, one landscape, one culture to another with approximately 5,000 miles between the two. I am so excited! This opportunity is exactly what I dream my life of being, adventurous and unpredictable, challenging and a bit scary, forever learning something (or somewhere) new.

Please Comment Here...

  • Blog Stats

    • 9,697 hits
  • The Archives

  • Copyright Info

    All Information and Pictures are Copyrighted unless otherwise noted.
    ©A Migrant State of Mind 2011

    CC Licence
    Legal Code Licence Deed

    Please contact us if you would like to purchase or use images or content in a way other than allowed or directed under this usage license. Thanks!

